Wednesday, August 17, 2011

�What do you think about Guillermo Vilas?

Firstly, Vilas never won Wimbledon. I'm not sure why that was said, but Vilas is definitely one of the all-time greats of the game. His clay-court winning streak was one of the most impressive feats in tennis history. I always thought he was a bit of an underachiever, because he only managed to win Roland Garros once in 18 tries, but then again he always had to contend with Bjorn Borg. Still, he played with great flair and was great on all surfaces. I like to think of him as the Jim Courier of his era. Great on all surfaces but not quite at that level to compete with the very best of the generation.

No comments:

Post a Comment